Flash Fiction #6

It’s Only Natural

copyright-erin-leary-2He stood at the fence, looking at the little stream, enjoying the beautiful morning.  The sun was well risen, but not yet really visible, as it burned the fog from the valley.

The red-winged blackbirds held chirpy conversations.  A few dragonflies darted here and there, importantly.  The occasional frog made a political statement.

It had been a lovely summer, and the autumn was still warm.  He loved being able to come here and stand in the shade of the trees, enjoying communing with nature.

He’d better get back to the barn.  His young owner would want to saddle him soon.

Go to Rochelle Wisoff’s Addicted To Purple blog, and use the weekly picture as a prompt.  Write a 100 word complete story about it.

 

27 thoughts on “Flash Fiction #6

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Love the descriptions 🙂

    Like

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Unique vision!

    Like

  3. MM Jaye says:

    Nicely done! Animals do appreciate nature more than we do…

    Greetings from Greece!

    Maria (MM Jaye)

    Like

  4. wmqcolby says:

    Oh, nice! That’s cool! Good one.

    Like

  5. BrainRants says:

    Great description and I like the twist at the end.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Glad you liked it. You should almost feel the fog and smell the creek.
      Not every photo *speaks* to me – or maybe I’m just not listening hard enough. I’m catching the stride of this “concise” thing. 😉

      Like

  6. That was lovely – a really unexpected ending.
    (Delete the comma after ‘visible’?)

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Thanx for the appreciation, and the punctuation suggestion – but…. “but not yet really visible” is a subordinate clause the rest of the sentence is complete without. It needs to be separated by commas, both fore and aft, to create the “breath pause”, when (even mentally) reading. 🙂

      Like

  7. elappleby says:

    I love the frog’s political statement – great descriptions all round here. Really enjoyed this 🙂

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I hope you got the mental image I did when I wrote that, of self-important American Congressmen, or Canadian MPs, sitting around harrumphing, accomplishing little except eating up our taxes. 😉

      Like

  8. I know what you mean about being near nature. I’ve been taking a walk in a wonderful, nearby park every morning and it’s a great way to start the day. I like the twist you put in at the end and as a horse-lover, I got a kick (so to speak) out of the POV. “Well-risen” needs a hyphen which give you an extra word to play with if you so desire. Enjoy nature this weekend.

    janet

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I’ve had two lovely walks this week, which exceeds my normal average by…. TWO!
      My composition handbook says that hyphenation is optional. Either way is *correct.* “Well-risen”, hyphenated, is more specific, like well-risen bread. In this case, no actual change has occurred to the sun, only our perception of it, therefore no hyphen is preferred. Still, it’s a thought to keep in mind to shave a word, if necessary. Thanx for the improvement suggestion. 🙂

      Like

  9. I think many doing political statements are frogs in disguise.. if you kiss a frog most of them turn politicians I have heard.

    Like

  10. Lovely. I heard and felt it all (alas, I missed the part about the dragonflies being congressmen)

    Like

  11. Dear Archon,

    My daughter-in-law raises horses. This made me think of her and the most recent arrival of a colt last week. Anthropomorphic stories don’t often work for me. Yours does and does it well. Very nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I thank you for the praise. The intent was not so much to anthropomorphise, as to demonstrate the organizational intelligence of many animals.
      I have a dog who reminds me when his meal-time has passed, and a cat who requires amitriptyline and Valium for hyperesthesia. He doesn’t like a pill being stuffed down his throat, but will jump up on the couch and (loudly) announce his distress and need for medication.

      Like

  12. Archon, A lovely story with a surprise ending. That was a well-trained horse. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

