The Fellowship Of The Blog – Episode Eight

Day 4/Part 2 – Satisfaction, or, The Eyes of Ohio’s Potatoes Are Upon You

After escaping from the Children Of The Corn, otherwise known as Stills R Us, we drove up the side road, and, on only the second attempt, parked in front of John Erickson’s house.  Without ever being there, BrainRants should recognize the improvements John has made.  Flak TowerJohn gave me his street number about a year ago, but I misplaced it, and had to rely on AFrankAngle to provide it again.

I’d actually hoped to reach here two days ago, but the muffler intruded.  I didn’t know whether either of them had any idea that we were coming.  At noon on a Saturday seemed a good possibility to find one or both home.  I had an explanatory letter, which I was going to leave if no-one answered.  I tentatively climbed the front stairs and pushed the doorbell, and heard human movement inside, as well as a worried dog.

Soon, a lady Munchkin appeared, opened the door, and stepped outside.  She looked at me quizzically.  To have someone ring their bell is unusual.  To have someone ring their bell, who is not part of their inbred, easily recognized community, was just astronomical.  I didn’t even have a beard, or bib overalls.

Hillbilly Couple

 

 

 

 

 

I told her that I was The Archon, John Smith, from the Archon’s Den blogsite, and I was here to see John E., if he was well enough to accept visitors.  Like John, she accesses several Sci-Fi sites, and the term ‘Archon’ made her wonder if I was someone that she should know, but, I’d asked for John.  He was at home, in fine fettle, and holding back the big dumb dog, to keep it from rushing out the door.  If I didn’t mind the dog, he would be happy to receive me.

We stepped in, and John looked up, puzzled, from a kneeling position.  The wife had let me in, but now it was his turn to wonder who this space alien from Area 51 was.  I let the dog quickly nuzzle me before I repeated the introduction, Archon!  Archon’s Den, John Smith, here to see him.

It was sublime, to watch the thoughts and emotions chase themselves across his face.  Who?  You?! Here?  Now?  Me?  Really?!  I would like to think that John was as pleased and impressed to meet me, as I was to see him.  He jumped up, and we shook hands like we’d never need them again.   Despite Frank visiting a couple of years ago, they just couldn’t believe that someone else would show up out here, in the wilds of Ohio, or that a coterie of other bloggers would worry enough to want me to.

Even worse than our 4 and 1, they have 7 cats, and the dog.  I did not feel that the allergy-laden wife would fare well inside.  In fact, John suggested that we step across the street to the basement meeting room of the church, which he has a key to.  I invited the wife to come along but, as shaken and sore as she was, she wished to remain in the now-stationary and comfortable car, knitting.

After an hour of solitary gum-flapping, his wife showed up with a piece of paper with all kinds of contact info, PO box, cell phone numbers, his and hers email addresses, for when the electrons started flowing again.  She told me that I had a darling wife.  While John and I huddled in the cave, she had spotted the wife, abandoned in the car, and came out and stood beside her, and the gals got to know each other.

Soon, we returned to the car, and photos were taken of various combinations of happy folks, and the front of the house.  John took me around to the back, which as you saw above, looks a little different.

SDC10679

 

 

 

SDC10678

The mental image we have of someone we’ve never met, never matches the reality when we do.  From his gravatar, I’ve always pictured John as a short, squat, ugly, little garden gnome.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  He’s actually fairly tall….  😉

In fact, both he and his lovely wife, are intelligent, well-spoken, friendly, welcoming, down-to-earth people who are wasted on the fellow denizens out there.  I don’t know if he shaves any portion of his head, but he is completely bald, which explains the hats.  He is incredibly curious, and knowledgeable about a wide range of subjects, and his wife doesn’t give up any points to him, either.

If John and I hadn’t been ‘guys’, we might have hugged.  We drove away, sadly, all too soon, with a warm happy glow.  Compounded with the reception by Cordelia’s Mom, in Buffalo, we should be smiling all winter.  If you ever have the chance to meet a fellow blogger who is geographically close enough, observe on-line dating precautions, but go for it!

Virtually nothing can top the story of meeting the Windy City Wonderer, but we had another day on this trip, and I have a few occurrences and observations to relate, so there will be one more episode.  Stop back to read the story of the highway cop who didn’t arrest me, during a four-hour trek to Detroit.

8 thoughts on “The Fellowship Of The Blog – Episode Eight

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    The Erickson’s are genuine treats! … but I love the fact that you caught him by surprise!

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      They are indeed, lovely, intelligent folks. While meeting them was a treat, I was sad that automotive problems left us so little time with them.
      It’s like The Beverly Hillbillies in reverse out there. I can imagine how alone they both must have felt when the communication tower went down. The internet is probably the thing that keeps them sane and connected to reality. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. garden2day says:

    The internet is the only thing that keeps many of us sane 😉 – lol. Losing access is akin to an apocalypse or other such catastrophe (maybe worse). 😀

    I’m glad you made it and had such a good meet and greet.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      It might have been worse for this couple than for many others. They are socially ‘fish out of water’ in this little backwoods Ohio village, but financially unable to move back to civilization. They are heavily dependent on the internet. You can’t stare out the window, counting Amish wagon-loads of beets forever, and the blackout stretched to three months.
      Our visit was sweet, but far too short. 😦

      Like

  3. Sightsnbytes says:

    good post. It took me four times to read it. Every time I seen that damn snow plow I turned the page off…

    Like

  4. benzeknees says:

    So glad you got to see John – I was worried about him! Nice to know too that he doesn’t live in a tumbledown shack in the middle of a field – which was my impression from the way he described his living situation. His house looks pretty normal!

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I very much wish that the visit could have been longer. We had so little time as it was, and getting lost seriously cut into it.
      I don’t know what the quality of their Chicago digs were. He’s done some work, especially outside, to improve the Ohio place.
      We have four cats, a medium dog and (less now) junk. They have seven cats, a larger dog, far more ‘stuff’, and less space. With the wife’s inhalant allergies, meeting in the clean church room was a great idea. 🙂

      Like

  5. […] Ginter Gardens.  We even trekked into the Middle Of Nowhere, Ohio, to find the only slightly lost John Erickson, and we did it all on a shoestring […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

