Flash Fiction #38

Broken window

 

 

 

 

© Copyright Marie Gail Stratford

Breaking Bad

Now, we’d rehearsed for days and days,
A smash-and-grab to do.
You throw da brick,” one bloke said,
“And I’ll leave da grab to you.”

The brick went through the window,
“Now grab,” they cried, “and quick!”
It wasn’t till we’d got away,
I found I’d grabbed our brick.

I stared and stared over another big pile of writer’s block, at Rochelle’s weekly photo prompt.  Suddenly, like a brick through a plate glass window, I had a flash of inspiration.  Tripping over the mixed metaphor, I saw it was only an anemic firefly.  “I know; I’ll resuscitate Lonny Donegan’s humor!”

 

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and use her Wednesday photo as prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

 

 

36 thoughts on “Flash Fiction #38

  1. Funny joke Archon. 😀 Well done. I used a story my dad used to tell about his childhood. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  2. BrainRants says:

    Archon, you’re a poet. We didn’t even know it.

    Like

  3. Nan Falkner says:

    Archon, this really is good – I love that he got away with his own brick – what a bummer – good poem! Nan 🙂

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I’d like to take credit for the poem, but it’s from a comedy song titled ‘Lively’ by Lonny Donegan, the British singer/writer mentioned above. Try YouTube for some more fun. 🙂
      Most crooks aren’t very smart, or they wouldn’t be crooks, they’d have a real job, like a Hedge-Fund Broker….uh, wait….

      Like

  4. Brilliant piece Archon. Very witty and made me laugh!

    Like

  5. […] (100 words) Picture linked via Archon’s Den. […]

    Like

  6. Sightsnbytes says:

    got any bricks to spare? I have been dealing with Writer’s Block for a few weeks now…The photo prompt prompted me to write something as well

    Like

  7. draliman says:

    Hah, that was great! At least they got their brick back 🙂

    Like

  8. I love your use of the double meaning for the title.

    janet

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Why thank you! I always appreciate when someone ‘gets’ one of my little details. Some of my essays are plain as drinking water, others I manage to embed a dozen in the hundred words. I just watched Shrek II, and got dizzy trying to keep up with all the inside jokes and references. 😀

      Like

  9. aFrankAngle says:

    Well done … Gotta love your contrarian way of looking at whatever!

    Like

  10. gahlearner says:

    Breaking bad indeed, LOL. I can only admire, and wish I could deal in such an original, fun way with writer’s block.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I’m running this one-trick pony into the ground. This is the third time, albeit with significant variations, that I’ve pulled this stunt in the past year, making fun of my shortcomings.

      I’ve often said that I’m merely productive, rather than inspired creative, but it only works on these small stories. Both Robert Heinlein and Stephen King are quoted as saying that, to be a professional writer, you have to sit down and pound out 2000 words every day. 🙄

      Like

  11. Very funny. Very cute.
    Hit me like a ton of bricks.
    Though they wanted just to loot,
    they got nothing for their tricks.
    Ha. Randy

    Like

  12. Dear Archon,

    Inspiration in a flash. Cute. I love a good play on words and I can always count on you.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Thank you once again Rochelle.
      Are you getting to the point when you can ‘let them eat cake’ decorated by someone else, and spend more time wrangling your herd of writers?? You must be well down into double digits of days left?! Will it be in May or June when you can leave your fully baked words, for our half-baked words? Are you as excited and anticipating as I was? Good luck! 😀
      Archon

      Like

      • One hundred and thirty three days, Archon, but who’s counting? Me. That’s who. Oh and I am so looking forward to it. Particularly since my agent just contracted for the sequel to my novel and I have lots of work ahead. There’s a career waiting at the end of the job.

        Shalom,

        Rochelle

        Like

      • Archon's Den says:

        And therein lies a most important difference. I had rather hoped that the finish line was just a bit nearer. Now it looks like Aug./Sept.
        Set up a count-down widget soon, to keep us apprised? Throw a blog-party, with a “broken shackles” theme? I’m already composing a 100 word FREEDOM Flash Fiction for that week.
        My ‘writing-in-retirement’ is limited to my blog-site. Yours is a bit more exciting – and hopefully more rewarding, financially, as well as creatively.
        Archon

        Like

  13. lbeth1950 says:

    Boy, have I done this!

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I’m sure we all have, but, surprisingly, I’m the only one I’ve seen use it to advantage, by making fun of myself. Plagiarizing someone else’s poetry helps to dress it up. 🙄

      Like

Leave a Reply

