Flash Fiction #42

Barbecue

 

 

 

 

© Copyright – Rachel Bjerke

Thinking Outside The Box

Fountain, where are all the people?

I don’t know, Barbecue.  We used to be the center of entertainment.  They cooked meat and roasted corn on you, and splashed fingers and sailed little boats on me.  They had picnics.  They enjoyed the sunshine and fresh air.  They laughed, and talked, and joked, and played out here.

Now, the few times I see a person, they carry something in their hand that glows.  I hear them complain, “There’s no bars out here!”

I fear we’ve been abandoned.  Now they’re trapped inside, not merely the house but their heads also.  It’s not healthy!

 

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and use her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

22 thoughts on “Flash Fiction #42

  1. Good use of the prompt, Archon. You’re right, it’s not healthy to be trapped inside with the glowing thing most of the time. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  2. draliman says:

    Sounds exactly how the world is going – very sad.
    Nice take on the prompt.

    Like

  3. gahlearner says:

    Sad, and true. Someone will have to write a ‘life-barbecue’ app.

    Like

  4. Bring back the fountains of our youth I say!

    Like

  5. BrainRants says:

    Nice take on the photo prompt, Archon. Great creativity!

    Like

  6. So sad about the Fountain and Barbecue! Hopefully people will spend time there again. Great story!

    Like

  7. mjlstories says:

    Would love to stay and comment but I need to get out in the garden before I disappear inside a Friday Fiction loop.
    Cheers.

    Like

  8. Margaret says:

    Fun. Nicely told. I’ll make a point of spending some time with every fountain and barbecue I come across.

    Like

  9. wildbilbo says:

    Ha, I like it. Your story reminds me of visiting my parent’s place – you need to take a 5 minute walk to get any ‘bars’ there as well. I find this lack of bars more of a positive thing than a negative. 🙂

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Ah, the glorious sound of silence, and privacy. I am astounded by the egos so many people display by their phone calls about utter drivel. Folks call (911) the emergency number to complain that McDonalds didn’t give them dipping sauce for their McNuggets. 😦 😕

      Liked by 1 person

  10. AnnIsikArts says:

    I feel just like your ‘props-characters’. I’m fed up with people walking into me with their eyes glued to their mobile phones. And I got an elbow in the eye on the street this afternoon from a kid who was repairing his elaborate hair style with both hands – I came up on his ‘blind side’. I’d wish they’d all go back to nature, but I don’t want them staggering all over me in the woods as well! Your story evoked a late-middle-age rant. Thank you. I feel much better now. 🙂

    Like

  11. Creatopath says:

    We don’t use our BBQ as often as we should but we have been to a few sausage sizzles in the parks down by the beach which are great. Unique take on the prompt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

