Evolution of Intelligence

 

Bible

 

 

 

 

 

Is Evolution Proven?

A reader complained that two Provincial politicians have gone out of their way to deny evolution.  These politicians are correct.  The root word for evolution is evolve, and the word evolving means an on-going process.

Taken in that light, are those who believe in evolution not humans, or are they not humans anymore?  When a farmer plants corn seeds in the spring, does evolution – an ongoing process – yield a different crop?

And by the way, did corn, trees, weeds, flowers also originate from the same cell that developed monkeys, humans and animals?  Did stones also originate from that same cell?  Is evolution a proven fact? (1)

The writer also stated that politicians cannot express their Christian beliefs because, “their religion does not belong on Parliament Hill.”  Yet he implies that it is OK to bring his religion to Parliament Hill, because, when I do a Google search for a definition of religion, among the Oxford Dictionary meanings given is, “a pursuit or interest followed with great devotion.”

This man puts his trust in man, and believes that man can save himself, and Christians believe in God, knowing that God is the only one who saves. (2)

Ignorance is not a quality I value in my government, nor should you, yet this letter writer demonstrates that very ignorance.

Faithful Christian

dinosaur

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evolution Not Debatable

I wonder if Faithful Christian’s anti-evolution objections are cynical, straw-man arguments, or merely the ignorant type.

To even suggest that crops would evolve in a single growing season displays a disturbing ignorance of the mechanics and time-line of evolution.  It doesn’t happen overnight.  It usually takes millennia, or eons.  Guided by farmers, knowledgeable in its workings, the corn grown today only vaguely resembles that found by explorers, 500 years ago.

The intelligent humans of today who believe in evolution, evolved from ignorant Neanderthal cavemen.  And yes Faithful, the first living cell, produced by God, obeyed His directives, and split many times, in many ways, to evolve into the almost infinite range of life here on His Earth.

To speak of stones having cells is, at best, hypocritical, but even stone evolves.  Spewed lava eventually evolves into basalt, and plain, loose sand, crushed beneath the weight of miles of seawater, evolves into firm sandstone.

“Evolution” is not a test of faith; it’s a test of intelligence.  God is not lying to us.  Fossils really are millions of years old.

Grumpy Old Archon

 

So, I was forced to miss yet another chance to keep my mouth shut.  Several newspaper readers had been writing about how much salt they had to use to achieve the municipally-mandated ‘bare concrete’ walkways in front of their houses.  Salt kills grass, pollutes waterways, ruins shoes and rusts out cars.

I was going to send in a letter suggesting that people try Urea crystals.  It melts like salt, but is a fertilizer, without salt’s bad side effects.  The biggest problem is finding it, and cheaply.  As a fertilizer, summertime and agricultural Co-ops yield the best results.

When I saw the above letter, I couldn’t resist tweaking the nose of another ‘Good Christian’, especially when he claimed to decry ignorance, and then asked such ignorant questions, and made such ignorant claims.

(1)

I cringed when I read the original subject letter, with its claim that evolution is a ‘fact.’  It appears to have more supporting evidence, but must still be taken on faith, just like religion.

(2)

This passage has absolutely nothing to do with the validity, or lack, of evolution.  The letter writer just throws it in to provide an emotionally-charged, fear-of-Damnation-raising, broad, believable base, for his otherwise baseless objections.

14 thoughts on “Evolution of Intelligence

  1. garden2day says:

    LOL..Well, considering that I was told today by some moron that my father was indeed the devil himself and this person quoted me scripture because I was “lost” and needed to find my way…I find this extremely funny. 😀 I really don’t like it when people tell me how deep into hell I am going 😉 and it is like they will personally take me there but this is my ongoing saga with the believers who think their faith is the only one that matters and that everyone must subscribe to such crazy talk. I just want to throw up and my hands and say–sure…fine…whatever…I give… 😀 I wonder if I could hibernate for a few thousand years…and assuming life would still be around…if maybe humans would evolve into something better or if this is the best it gets…no, never mind…that is a horrible thought. 😀 Take care! …. 🙂

    Like

  2. BrainRants says:

    Both sides of the fence here can be offensive when they forget that a belief is great while it’s inside your head. It gets hard to take when they’re released. In this way, beliefs are much like farts.

    Like

  3. Jim Wheeler says:

    Evolution. Don’t get me started. Oops, too late. 🙄

    However, I would like to use the opportunity to put in a good word for GMO’s. Genetically-modifing foods is nothing more than speeding-up evolution, something that’s been going on ever since the discovery of agriculture and the practices of sorting good seed from bad and breeding animals for desirable traits. People who hate GMO’s really should go on a Paleo diet of insects and shriveled stuff. IMHO.

    Like

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Faithful Christian not only doesn’t speak for all Christians, I’m confident they don’t even speak for the majority of them.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Reading his letter shows that he can barely speak for himself, but the local Op-Ed editor is a good Mennonite, and they often get printed. Corporate policy says opposing views must be published, but I never speak to him when I get a call to confirm. It’s always a young assistant. 😕

      Like

      • aFrankAngle says:

        I’m sure newspapers do a balancing act with letters. Here too, I’m surprised by some of the crap that gets published.

        Like

      • Archon's Den says:

        As newspapers fight a desperate, rear-guard action to remain in business, it becomes ‘shock journalism’, like Howard Stern, or Duck Dynasty in print – anything to hold those last few readers. 😦
        Survivor – The Record
        Dancing With the Editors
        😯

        Like

  5. benzeknees says:

    I would be more upset with a government which insists I take my sidewalks down to bare cement when most governments refuse to plow the roads in a timely fashion!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      We have that problem here. If someone complains, the city will send out a crew to scrape it clean, and then bill you $300/$400. Meanwhile the daughter can’t get her power wheelchair up to the supermarket, and the bus shelters are plowed In. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

