Chastised

Shrew

I took shit twice this week, and both times from a woman….  Wait, I’m a male, and I’m married – that statement is redundant.

I took the wife to a grocery store that we don’t normally patronize.  Once you’re in, they give you all the room in the world, but, worried about ‘shrinkage’, they funnel you in, and funnel you out.

Finished with our shopping, we joined the mule-train heading for the exit.  Suddenly, the two women with carts ahead of us, came to a complete stop.  I waited for a few seconds to allow someone to put change or coupons in a purse, but when a minute had passed and we still weren’t moving, I looked to see what the holdup was.

Three women had entered the store, one, 5 to 10 years older than me, and what seemed to be her daughter and a friend.  The daughter was treating her like she was senile, and giving minute instructions – go here, look for that, don’t buy this, etc., etc.  The problem was, they’d stopped her when her cart was crossways to the access aisle.  If the two in front of me wanted to stand there like sheep, I’d play herd-dog.

The old gal wasn’t leaning on the cart, so I grasped the front and slowly, gently turned it 90°, till it was against the wall, and out of everybody’s way.  The senior’s hand and wrist moved with it.  Now the two dreamers woke up and headed out of the store.  The darling little old lady looked up in surprise and said, “Oh, was I blocking the aisle?  I’m so sorry.  I apologise!”, because that’s what thoughtful, well-mannered people do.

Suddenly, like a fireworks display, the daughter started popping off.  To the friend, “Well, isn’t he aggressive?”  To me, “What’s the matter?  Are you so busy that you couldn’t wait a minute?  She’s an old lady you know, and she has mobility problems.”  At which point my wife hobbled up to the corner with her forearm crutch, where the bitch could now see her, and blasted right back at her.  “I’m an old lady too, and I also have mobility problems, and it causes me a lot of pain to have to just stand there and wait!”  Uh…yeah…well…  She was still trying to close her mouth when we walked out.

Later in the week, I went down to my usual supermarket.  It sits on a five-lane street, the center lane for left turns, everywhere except at the supermarket’s driveway, where the roads crew have painted a swoop and stop-line.  I must turn left into that store, and oncoming traffic must turn left into the side street for the EuroFood market.

I pulled over and stopped for oncoming traffic in the other lanes.  I looked up and saw a pair of seniors, older than me, coming at me.  They want to go in on the side-road….  Whoa!!  No they don’t!  He wants to go on past me to the entrance at the far end of the strip-mall.  He managed to get the car stopped just before he hit me, and then they sat there gesticulating at me.

When it was safe to do so, I pulled past them and made my left, but as I did so, the sweet little, 80-year-old wife rolled down her window and offered some verbal opinions.  I’m glad I had my windows rolled up.  When I got home I had to buff scorch marks off the passenger side of the car.  I think a taxi driver had to pull over and catch his breath.

I saw the kind, round, old Germanic face, and heard (faintly) what was coming out of it, and all I could think of was the subservient, aproned haus-frau who curtseyed, and opened the counter-weighted gate for Goldfinger, in the James Bond movie – who went all Valkyrie, and pulled out a Schmeisser machine gun on him when he tried to escape.

Entitled without being attentive, opinionated without being informed, judgemental without the faintest shred of suspicion that they may be in error – I begin to understand how wars, and jihads, and feuds, and murders come about.  It all comes back to the Ego and Insecurity.

Has someone taken you to task for something you were innocent of??  How did you handle it?  😕

While I’m asking questions….like the occasional debate as to whether to call carbonated soft-drinks Pop, Soda, or Coke (even when it’s obviously not)….I only referred to them as ‘carts’ in the body of the post, but I tagged it ‘shopping carts’, which is what I call them.  I have heard them referred to as ‘buggies’, which I think of as a baby conveyance.  At a couple of stores, I’ve heard the teenager paged to ‘go bring in the wagons.’  What do you call them?

#466

24 thoughts on “Chastised

  1. As for carbonated drinks – I simply call them shite I don’t drink. Certain brands have enough acidity to be useful in the garage.

    Carts are carts.

    I am not quite so kindly as you and your wife are. When someone gets in my face and they’re in the wrong, there is an ambulance bill to pay for on the way.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I’m impressed that you don’t drink any pop/soda/shite. Almost everyone drinks some, and often too much. Like my father, allergies give me a stomach-full of swallowed phlegm. A juice glass of Pepsi a day helps break it up. My Dad drank a can of Coke a day, until my mother insisted that he change to milk, because it was ‘good for him.’ The doctor had to tell her that the fats in milk, on top of the phlegm were causing digestive problems. Not often you get prescribed soft-drinks. Now if I could only get beer prescribed. 🙄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BrainRants says:

    I’m from California, so I call everything ‘coke.’ As for shopping carts, well, there’s my answer. Sorry to hear about your fugitive Nazi problem there in backwoods Canada. I thought they all went to South America.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I thought the ‘Coke’ thing centered on Coketown Atlanta.
      My Nazis probably had family here in Krautville, or just didn’t believe their GPS because it was built in Israel. 😕

      Like

  3. Jim Wheeler says:

    Shopping carts.

    Having a rather bad temper, I try to avoid confrontation and have gotten pretty successful at it. It is odd, though, how people’s behavior changes within the cocoon of a vehicle. One-finger salutes and such. I take side roads and try to avoid traffic jams. I think bad vehicular behavior is on the increase, and that includes men popping wheelies while roaring down a hilly section of one of our busiest streets. Ah, youth!

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      A soft answer turneth away wrath. Greater population density only proves what scientists studying rats have found. When crowded, they will attack each other, often for no apparent reason.
      I thought front-wheel-drive cars had pretty much done away with wheelies – and those weren’t ‘men’, just large boys.
      The 8-year-old boy next door was going to show his friend how to ‘do a Poppa Wheelie.’ I wonder what a Momma Wheelie, or a Baby Wheelie look like, and whether he’ll speak English when he grows up?? 😛

      Like

  4. suescribbler says:

    I grew up in England and call shopping carts trolleys. Still do from time to time which makes my fellow Canadians look at me puzzled. Love your posts by the way.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Sorry! I forgot about ‘trolleys.’ The wife and I watch a lot of imported British telly, so we’re also familiar with ‘lorries, prams, boots, bonnets and kerbs.’ 😆

      Like

  5. I’ve worked in retail or sakes or customer service of some sort for 30 years, so yes I’ve seen the gamut of rude, crazy, entitled, spoiled, angry, crazy, ungrateful, nasty, hateful, crazy, assuming, oblivious, self-centered people. And did I mention crazy? My need to stay employed and my non-confrontational temperament usually keep me in check, though I’ve been known to give in to a little road rage in the relative privacy of my own car.

    Also, in all those years in retail I’ve always called it a cart too. But sometimes have to specify the “shopping” part to some people.

    Like

    • sales, not sakes, haha

      Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Welcome back. I haven’t noticed you around for a while. How can a young thing like you have been employed for 30 years? I don’t know why we don’t hear of more customer service clerks going to jail. You’ve listed most, but not all of the problems. The morning radio gal used to be in customer service. One of her favorite questions was, “How many rolls of toilet paper are there in this 12-pack?” The world really doesn’t need people like that. I’ll bet no court would ever convict for manslaughter – littering maybe. 😆

      Like

      • Haha! I had someone who asked for a specific kind of ice melt. I told her we didn’t have it, we only had “X” kind. She insisted on seeing what we had and then yelled at me once because they want what she wanted. Those kinds of people are everywhere. I’m 45 but I’ve worked since I was 15, so I count every stumble single year!

        I’m trying to get myself back in the habit of reading blogs but I’ve been super lazy! I like ones like your’s that I can read in email, but I had to click through and comment on this one for sure! 🙂

        Like

      • Archon's Den says:

        Thanx, ‘Kid.’ 😉 Other than assisting my mother with home cleaning, my first paying job was at 15 also. I put in 50 years, and got out.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. garden2day says:

    I laughed so hard… I understand your pain!!! Sometimes I’m nice about these things but many times I’ll call them on it. Good for your wife. I like the approach that is witty and as kind as possible but leaves the other party with their jaws hanging open…. 😉 (lasting impression)

    I was told to f— myself in very certain terms as you could read in my post. Then, some judgmental soul (not the word I’m thinking) commented that i needed to read Revelation 9, that if I were a REAL believer I would not be hurt (eye roll).. He also spoke of jhad… (eye roll). Egos are ever-present and I believe too many people are playing god.

    I’ll hush now. Thanks for sharing. I’m sorry you have been having such a time but I do feel your pain :/ Take care! 🙂

    Oh… Carts is what I call them. Buggies make me think back before cars (not that I remember that far back 😛 ) to the horse and buggy… 😀

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Folks like this don’t really cause me much pain or trouble, just enough to occasionally publish a post like this. I don’t really understand the Revelation 9 reference, but then, I often don’t understand the Bible thumpers’ claims and assumptions. I recently told one of them that I believe in ‘God’, just not in his opinion of who God was, and what He wanted.
      Sadly, I am old enough to remember horses and buggies. I live in the center of an Amish territory. Anywhere outside of town, they are a common sight. I appreciate your support, but save it for yourself. You appear to need it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • garden2day says:

        LOL…I’m really glad we don’t do the horse and buggy thing anymore but I love horses–not for traveling. I think I will come to Canada to hide out for a few months. I hear the Rocky Mountains are especially beautiful this time of year. Surely not everyone there is as whacko as they are down here. People (particular men) want everyone (including all women) armed to the teeth for protection whether they can shoot or not just because it is a “right” but they don’t want women to make laws about guns/weapons and women’s bodies. We aren’t smart enough because we are too emotional according to the men down here though I know men who don’t believe this way.We are supposed to be submissive (always) and never have an opinion…and if I hear that the earth is only 5-6,000 years old one more time, I will scream. 😀 Take care and have a great week! I thought evolution made things better…I’m still waiting to see evidence of that in humans 😀

        Like

  7. Sightsnbytes says:

    Sometimes the best way to deal with a big mouth person with a case of verbal diarrhea is to ignore them. Sometimes I point to my ears and say “I have hearing issues” and ignore them…sometimes I even remove my hearing aids in front of them, and gesture that I can’t hear them….which makes them even more mad. Sometimes it is best to ignore these people and go about your merry way.
    As for the shopping carts, I call them car bangers. Every ding on the side of my truck was likely caused by a car banger.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I ignored an idiot the other day, because I thought he was talking to his wife. You’re right. It just pisses them off more.
      I’m sorry to hear that you’ve got dings on your new truck At least none of them are from moose. Do you ever see them on your new daily commutes? Deer tend to come out at dusk. Is there a particular time of day for moose to roam? 😕 🙂

      Like

      • Sightsnbytes says:

        The worst times to see moose are at dusk and dawn. This time of year is the worst, as the cows are driving last year’s calves away to make room for the new ones. You have 1500 lb deer wandering aimlessly without a clue (or a mother to guide them). you can imagine the results. No moose dings on the truck…thankfully

        Like

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Thanks for confirming the supermarket is a wonderful place to observe the clueless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

