Flash Fiction #56

Tunnel

PHOTO PROMPT © Stephen Baum

OUT

Cindy lived in the Bible Belt.  Usually she was very careful what she did and said.  A couple of years ago, a handsome young man had tried to pick her up at the entrance to a club.

She replied, “I’m not straight.”  In a lobby full of smoked-up pill-droppers, that was not unusual, and he persisted.  “No!  I’m not straight.” and Marilyn had come out, and they’d gone home.

Now, the Federal Supreme Court had ruled that her State government could no longer withhold rights and privileges enjoyed by all other citizens.  She and Marilyn were going to get married.

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and use her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

#478

25 thoughts on “Flash Fiction #56

  1. BrainRants says:

    I get it – light at the end of the tunnel.

    Like

  2. Vinay Leo R. says:

    At last, they’re happily ever after 🙂

    My #FF

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I fear that ‘happily ever after’ may still be some way away. 150 years after manumission, and 50 years after integration, some kid in North Carolina still hates and fears Negroes, but baby steps are being made. 😕

      Like

  3. Ah.. yes to me this make a lot of sense.. finally some fairness.

    Like

  4. I guess to them it must have felt like living in a tunnel, afraid to come out. Light at last! Unusual and wonderful take on the prompt!

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Oh, I’m the prick prince of unusual. While many of the Fictioneers are writing of serious matters, I have a cow stuck in a silo. Even here, where I have a socially significant subject, I’m not sure how the picture pictured it for me. Thanx for dropping in. 🙂

      Like

  5. micklively says:

    Out of the tunnel and into the light: it’s such a popular metaphor, I wonder if it touches something primaeval (or foetal) within us?
    Good piece.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I think it does have the feeling of being born – or born again, without the religious overtones – freedom and opportunity, finally.
      Glad you liked it. I thought about tying the photo to Greece, but this seemed closer to home. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. draliman says:

    Nicely topical! The light at the end of their tunnel has finally arrived.

    Like

  7. gravadee says:

    I so loved this

    Like

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    I enjoyed the story … but a bit non-Archonian … which means you are displaying your complexity & versatility.

    Like

  9. ansumani says:

    Good take on the prompt.

    Like

  10. gahlearner says:

    Wonderful. Her hesitant coming out and gaining confidence is so well described.

    Like

  11. Dale says:

    As you said, baby steps! Moving forward, no matter how slowly…

    Like

Leave a Reply

