Flash Fiction #71

Bra

PHOTO PROMPT – © Connie Gayer …(Mrs. Russell)

A SHOCKING EXPERIENCE

Thunder and lightning like the 1812 Overture. The rain was just bucketing down.  I was coming back from the Library, with my bestie Becky when it broke.

They say don’t go under a tree, ‘cause it might get hit by lightning. Then they tell you don’t stay out in the open, ‘cause you might get hit.  We jogged home, all soaking.

I watched from the back porch, leaning my left arm against the post. I woke up on the lawn.  Lightning went down my arm.  The doctor said the underwire of my support bra kept it from stopping my heart.

***

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and use her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

 

22 thoughts on “Flash Fiction #71

  1. ceayr says:

    Well written and a surprise ending.
    I thought you were a grumpy old man!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. draliman says:

    Handy lightning rods, those bras 🙂
    I’ve often wondered what you’re supposed to do if you can’t stay in the open or go under a tree. Jump in your car if it’s nearby, I suppose.
    Great story!

    Like

  3. BrainRants says:

    That’s an awesome creative twist. Anyone assist you with this one?

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I could only wish. This month’s shipment of inspiration was late, so this tale was ‘ripped from the headlines’. The paper reported this summer, a story of a woman it actually happened to. The waking up in the middle of the lawn with a faceful of rain, was a Grade 10 schoolmate, who came in with a burn on his right arm and ankle. His doctor told him he was lucky he didn’t get hit on the left. 😯

      Like

  4. Sightsnbytes says:

    nice story….but you wear a Bra…I mean a Bro? or is it a manzier?

    Like

  5. Great story but I was surprised by the bra as well. Interesting idea about the wire protecting the heart but I would not want to try it out to see if it works. 🙂

    Like

  6. Dear Archon,

    Please tell me this is from the POV of a woman so I shouldn’t worry.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  7. Dale says:

    What a great take on the prompt! I wouldn’t want to tempt fate, though… And here I was thinking underwire bras were annoying. Guess I’ll keep mine!

    Like

  8. Whew… good thing for the bra!! LOL! Love your story! 🙂

    Like

  9. gahlearner says:

    I may have to rethink my resolve to not wear these torture devices. Hm. What a great take on the prompt, and the bra steals the scene.

    Like

Leave a Reply

