HELP!

Spring

Help, I need somebody!
Help, not just anybody.
Help, you know I need someone.
Help!

I could have used some help with this week’s Flash Fiction. I went to Rochelle’s site and examined the photo prompt.  It looked like a couple of beef leg bones in a clear plastic public garbage bag.  The only thought I had was about some greasy-spoon diner that served overly large chicken wings.  You’re better off without that story.

I decided instead, to request aid and succor from my readers. This week, in several different places, I have seen a post of 15 questions given to 8 to 10-year-old children to find out if they are geniuses (genii).  I took the test myself.  I got the right answers to 13 out of the 15 questions, so I can probably outwit some students, before they enter Middle School.

For most of the questions, when the correct answer is revealed, it’s obvious. For three of the remaining four, when the answer is shown, a note pops up to explain why and how.  I got two of these right, and two of them wrong.  One of my errors was explained, but the other one wasn’t.

I was going to leave a comment/question, asking for clarification, but found that the test is based on Facebook, and I don’t have a Facebook account to access it. Have any of my readers seen this test?  Do you know what I’m referring to?  Do you know the answer?  Do you have a Facebook account?

Here’s the question that stumped me. I guess I’ll never grow up to be an insightful genius.

Bing is to Ding
as Hug is to….
Hit/Bug/Enemy/Friend

Transposing initial letters, and answering ‘Bug’, seemed a bit too simplistic for a question searching for geniuses, but it’s the one I eventually settled for.

The correct answer is ‘Friend!’  I see how the word Hug relates to Friend, but now I can’t divine a similar relationship between Bing and Ding.

A little help – please!   😳

4 thoughts on “HELP!

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    If you assign letters of the alphabet numbers, the B=2 and D=4 which makes them two letter units apart. H=8 and F=6, also two letter units apart.

    I hope this helps. I’ve been working non-stop for months, which doesn’t leave me much time to be a friend. 😦

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      As far as being a friend, I’m pretty sure that you still have a lot of credit in your account. I was just missing your happy, smiling face (and maybe just a little worried). I had hoped that at least you’d pop out to see your shadow on Feb. 2nd.
      While negotiating with your kidnapper, I demanded ‘proof of life’ – and here you are. I understand that you (guys) are really busy. This has been, and continues to be, quite an adventure.
      Thanx for the visit. Drop by again when you have the time. 😀

      Like

  2. Kayjai says:

    Pffft…I would have answered the same as you, so…I’m obviously of no help. AND, I have Facebook and didn’t see this quiz, so sorry. No help there, either. So to sum up, I did NOT help you in any way whatsoever with this or anything else…. *sigh*

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Well, you didn’t have an answer to one strange question, but to see you out and about on the blogosphere cheers me greatly. Even your tales of ice-dancing under the car, and turning….29 again, proves my misery loves your company. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

