Flash Fiction #98

Flood

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

HOW DRY I AM

Rain, rain, go away! Come again another day!

Bobby had always been an active boy, into baseball, football and Scout Camp. He wondered how many times he’d made that plea over the years.  Too many, obviously!

Into each life, some rain must fall. All he’d been doing was delaying the inevitable.  How long had it rained in the Bible??   Forty days and forty nights?!!

His family had retreated up this mountain when the floods came. He hoped that the water level would start receding, before clouds gathered, the sky opened up, and he had to wish the rain away again.

***

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and use her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

 

20 thoughts on “Flash Fiction #98

  1. athling2001 says:

    Beautifully written; the way you structure your words to tell the story but also keep the reader wondering who is this boy/man. Where is he? What trial does he face, not only here, but in his past. Your story left me feeling warm and glowing inside, like I had just touched something of rare and fragile beauty.

    Like

  2. Dear Archon,

    Sounds like he’s in for some heavy wishing. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  3. Funnily enough, I said that yesterday and today the sun’s come out. Could be a coincidence I suppose, but I prefer not to think so.

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings

    Like

  4. It sounds like my husband’s version of his childhood in England. Tell him to come to Australia – rain comes in bursts but not in Noah type deluges.

    Like

  5. elappleby says:

    I like stories that make me think and linger longer than the 100 words and this one definitely sits in that category. Excellent.

    Like

  6. wmqcolby says:

    Kids feel like it’s forever when they have to wait for things to change. I remember those days well myself, wishing I could go outside again.

    Nice work, Archon!

    Like

  7. BrainRants says:

    Good one, Archon. Email me if you get a global warming freak commenting here. I’m in the mood to troll someone.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I hadn’t thought of the possible global warming connection. This was just supposed to be a feel-good, unicorn-pissing-rainbows tale.
      If I get an eco-freak, you’ll be the first to know. I want to observe your technique. 😀

      Like

  8. It sounds like every time it rains there it pours.Good story, Archon. —- Suzanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

