Flash Fiction #102

Lamb

PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

BE A LAMB

I can hardly wait to try that new restaurant, Shear Heaven, the one that specializes in lamb. I love lamb, lamb chops, lamb cutlets, lamb stew.  I’m confused though; why would the country’s greatest vegan chef open a lamb restaurant?

It’s called aversion therapy.

What??!

Have you ever been to a seafood restaurant where they let you pick your own lobster? It’s the same here.  If you can look at little Bambi….

Bambi was a deer.

Fine! If you can look at little Baa-baa, and still say, “I want that leg of lamb….??”  Everybody ends up ordering curried chick peas.

***

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and use her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

 

18 thoughts on “Flash Fiction #102

  1. liz young says:

    HAHA! Though I have actually helped a friend with her sheep and still enjoyed the meat later.

    Like

  2. I think it might work… But there are always those hardened few who gladly pet the little lamb and send it away to be slaughtered

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      It would work with most effete urbanites. I question the nuances of the term ‘hardened few.’ It almost makes them sound evil. Perhaps they’re better described as ‘farmers.’ 😉

      Like

  3. ahtdoucette says:

    Aww.. Yeah, that would probably work for me. I don’t like any kind of food that I have to watch staring back at me, at any point in our shared history.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Years ago, we took our (then-young) son to the local market. The wife warned me not to let him run ahead, but he pulled his hand from mine, and rushed over to the seafood counter, to find fish and octopi staring back at him. At least he got sick on the easily-cleaned concrete floor. 😳

      Like

  4. wmqcolby says:

    Hee-hee-heeeeee! Another good one. Glad you submitted two, Archon. Loved it!

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      Usually, I’m fighting for inspiration. A year or so ago, when this photo first went up, I came up empty. This time I saw the lamb cutlets….and the wife walked past the computer and remarked about an old Simmons commercial, where the ‘Counting Sheep’ are out of work.
      There is a writer among us who often posts more than one story. I am usually jealous. Once in a row, I get to join him. 😀

      Like

  5. BrainRants says:

    Deer meat is awesome. That is all.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I’ve had a little deer salami, and a bit of deer sausage, but no straight meat. I did get a bit of moose roast once. I only shot groundhogs when I was younger, but now can’t afford to pay the bureaucratic fees necessary to hunt. 😳

      Like

  6. Dear Archon,

    Bring on the…hummus.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  7. That might work for some. Others could care less. I always understood that “lamb” as in leg of lamb didn’t mean a newborn but a partly grown lamb. Good writing Archon. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

