The Olde Philosophy Shoppe

philosopher

I have strived for years to absorb the wisdom of the ages, and all I wound up with was the ages – very little wisdom. Even my LinkedIn profile (under The Archon) lists my job description as ‘Sage’….more like oregano – or thyme.  Just as taxis are being pushed out by the likes of Lyft, or Uber, so too do I find my respected Adored Elder position of ‘disseminator of arcane knowledge’ being replaced by part-time amateurs.

During the summer, I took the wife and daughter (more than once) to a couple of plant nurseries. Valuable tribal lore used to be passed by word of mouth, from older, experienced, veteran warriors, to green, wet-behind-the-ears youngsters, around the campfires at night.

I found that wisdom (and what passes for it) is now passed from smart-mouthed hipster Millennials, to plant lovers and random passers-by, via garden plaques. Here are a few of the ones I saw.  Perhaps you’d like to copy and save one or two, and pass them on, when the time is right.

philo2

philo1

philo3

philo4

philo5

smartphone-ignore

truth

no-humor

Ah well, you guys come here mostly for the humor….or is it just to humor me?  I’ve armed you well.  Go forth and be philosophical – and come back in a couple of days for some jokes.

5 thoughts on “The Olde Philosophy Shoppe

  1. BrainRants says:

    Reminded me of an unattributed favorite: “Silence is golden, but duct tape is silver.”

    Like

  2. So many signs, so little time……I do like the wine is like duct tape one. Anything can be fixed with duct tape. I saw a tee shirt that had a picture of a cassette tape and a pencil. The caption read, “The youth of today will never understand this unique relationship.” I nearly fell out of my chair laughing. If I had a dollar for every time a favorite tape of mine got “eaten” by the player…….pencils never worked for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

