Happy Birthday

As so often happens, I’m a day late and a dollar short.  In this case, I barely made the right day, and what I am short is a post about John Erickson vs. 50 years old.  John’s a great guy, even if he likes goats.  I’m an old goat, and he seems to like me.  The best I’ve got on a very busy day, is how I came to know him, and know of him.
I was working in the lab, late one night, when my eyes beheld….No, no, wait! That’s how I ran into BrainRants.  I tripped over him, and fell into blogging.  I soon noticed a plethora of comments on his site from an intelligent, knowledgeable gentleman.  He had lots of information and opinions, even if he didn’t have a blogsite.  As I ventured deeper into the blogosphere jungle, I found his footprints everywhere.  Always the voice of reason, the reason was that, even though Nancy Reagan suggested it, he couldn’t “just say no” to commenting.
He eventually created a blog of his own and now dispenses wit and wisdom, the occasional whine, and stories about kittens.  What’s not to like?  The Mayans were apparently wrong, so we’re here today to honor him on his 11th, 39th birthday.  It’s thyme to introduce the sage of Ohio, a man who’s a legend in his own mind, even when it’s on medical leave – the one, the only – John Erickson.  C’mon out here and take a bow, John!  Let’s hear it for the birthday boy folks!
John Erickson

11 thoughts on “Happy Birthday

  1. I do think it’s hilarious that he was already legendary for his comments long before he ever had a blog.

    Like

  2. benzeknees says:

    What a nice introduction to John!

    Like

  3. Archon's Den says:

    Thanx Benz. He’s easy, and a joy to introduce.

    Like

  4. “A legend in his own mind, even when it’s on medical leave.” I think I may have just found a new opening line for my blog! 😀
    Seriously, I love the intro. Great stuff. And thanks, to you and your readers and all the other bloggers for all the love I’ve gotten today. You’re doing a noble service, by the way, with the lampooning – otherwise, my head might not fit through the bedroom doorway, and it’s two-doors wide! 😉

    Like

  5. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Awesome , Archon!

    Like

  6. Archon's Den says:

    Aw shucks ma’am, ’tweren’t nothin’, but I’m glad you liked it. Sharp Angle dragooned me, and I couldn’t say no, not for John. I ghost-wrote four of Frank’s jokes, (see if you can guess which ones.) and this unusually abbreviated little post between 4 and 5 AM, then didn’t get a chance to publish it till after noon. Christmas baking has me missing many regular visits. I’ll be around again in a couple of days.

    Like

  7. […] Visit these other birthday tributes: Fasab, Elyse, Guapo, Weebs, Doggy, Jamie, Brainrants, Benzeknees, Archon […]

    Like

Leave a comment