Flash Fiction 46

fire-roger-bultot

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

FOUR ALARM

Bob had been born and raised in Titusville PA, and had worked for a Pennsylvania oil company after graduating.  Two years after a transfer to Austin, he still wasn’t sure he wanted to stay in Texas.  It was hot and dusty – but the food was great!

He’d always liked Tex-Mex food.  It came as a surprise when he’d invited his neighbor, Pecos, over for Sunday brunch.

“Never cottoned much to that beaner food.  Steak and potatoes is good enough for me.”

“Perhaps you’d better start with Huevos Rancheros, they’re mild….!!?  Easy!  You’re not putting ketchup on fries – that’s Habanera sauce!”

Go to Rochelle’s Addicted to Purple site and use her Wednesday photo as a prompt to write a complete 100 word story.

27 thoughts on “Flash Fiction 46

  1. Ouch.. Once I grew some Habanero chili.. and yes it can cause severe damage.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I like ‘spicy’ food, but too hot is just silly. You can’t enjoy the flavors. Yes, the chemical burn is physically the same as if you had a hot coal in your mouth. This new dare-fad of trying to swallow a tablespoon of ground cinnamon is a Darwin Award audition. It can’t be done, and you can cause damage to your lungs trying. 🙄

      Like

      • Dale says:

        You would not like what my son plants in my garden… Habaneros are the “milder” of the peppers…

        Like

      • Archon's Den says:

        I might. 😕 Different peppers have different tastes – and different ‘heats.’ One Scotch Bonnet pepper can have up to 350,000 Scoville units, and provide noticeable heat and flavor to 1600 liters (400 gallons) of chili or stew. Go easy putting it on tacos. 😯

        Like

  2. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Archon,

    The photo prompt is a great representation of what that guys mouth must feel like after using that sauce. Very well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  3. BrainRants says:

    Yeah, habanero sauce will get you every time.

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I draw the line at Jalapenos on my nachos. The wife has found that she likes jerk chicken, and puts a little bit of ground Scotch Bonnet pepper in the sauce. No wonder Jamaicans talk funny. 🙄

      Like

      • BrainRants says:

        Awesome. You’re probably getting a pickled version of jalapenos… avoid those because they suck rhinoceros ass and aren’t hot… to me.

        Like

      • Archon's Den says:

        Yeah, they’re pickled, and I could eat them like our dill slices. When we first started making guacamole, the recipe instructed to ‘carefully remove all seeds.” After several years of adding more and more slices to oomph it up, I finally asked why we were taking out the seeds. Are they poisonous? “Well, it says in the recipe that they are the hottest part of the plant.” Well, put ’em in!! 🙄

        Liked by 1 person

      • BrainRants says:

        Yeah. Pickling takes all the kick out.

        Like

  4. draliman says:

    I think he’s in for a shock!

    Like

  5. merlin_pan says:

    Gneat shorts; geaux for it! I’l try my hand at Flash before Forever. Right now I’ll be busy “Learning WordPress” and modifying, catching up, more than responding to other bloggers.

    Like

  6. There’s a hot tongue in the old town tonight.
    Randy

    Like

  7. He would have had a shocking surprise. Funny and well done, Archon. 😀 — Suzanne

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      At the son’s suggestion, I pulled a juxtaposition, and had the northern guy introduce the cowboy to hot food. I’ve actually seen a couple of these. “Sure! Gimme another beer. I’ll try anything.” It’s funny – as long as it’s not you. 😉

      Like

  8. gahlearner says:

    Ouch! I’d like to see that fire dance. Great spin on the prompt, very funny. (I do like hot food, but there are limits).

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I have a nephew who used to love black pepper. After eating three fried eggs, there were three white circles inside a now-black plate. His mother eventually found him his own private pepper shaker, the size of a beer King-Can, which had to be refilled every couple of weeks. It’s a good thing he got a very good job. She couldn’t afford that much pepper. 😯

      Liked by 1 person

  9. mjlstories says:

    Crazy take on the prompt! I’m looking at this picture with new eyes.
    I love the phrase ‘beaner food.’

    Like

    • Archon's Den says:

      I tend to be quite literal. I read others’ Flash Fictions, most especially Rochelle’s, and wonder, “How did that photo prompt produce that story??” 😕 First, one of my followers asked how I got last week’s story from the train car picture, now I’m starting fires with hot sauce. Maybe we’ve all got a screw loose.

      I’ve been unintentionally posting stories about prejudice and intolerance, including last week’s multi-titled Flash Fiction, and my earlier, People of Privilege post.

      Being a Canadian boy, I first ran into the dismissive ‘beaner’ reference in the 1966 movie, The Wild Angels, with Peter Fonda and Bruce Dern antiseptically playing Hell’s Angels working for a living in the California oil fields. 🙄

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I was thinking you meant the fire coming out the next day. Yikes

    Like

  11. […] the picture above, the ‘No Parking’ sign says “from 10 AM to 12 PM.”  I know that they mean only for two […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

