Why Go To Church?


One Sunday morning, a mother went in to wake her son and tell him it was time to get ready for church, to which he replied, “I’m not going.”
“Why not?” she asked.
I’ll give you two good reasons,” he said. “(1) They don’t like me, and (2) I don’t like them.”
His mother replied, “I’ll give you two good reasons why you SHOULD go to church: (1) You’re 59 years old, and (2) you’re the pastor!”

***

The Picnic
A Jewish Rabbi and a Catholic Priest met at the town’s annual 4th of July picnic.
Old friends, they began their usual banter.
“This baked ham is really delicious,” the priest teased the rabbi. “You really ought to try it. I know it’s against your religion, but I can’t understand why such a wonderful food should be forbidden! You don’t know what you’re missing. You just haven’t lived until you’ve tried Mrs. Hall’s prized Virginia Baked Ham. Tell me, Rabbi, when are you going to break down and try it?”
The rabbi looked at the priest with a big grin, and said, “At your wedding.”

***

The Usher
An elderly woman walked into the local country church.
The friendly usher greeted her at the door and helped her up the flight of steps.
“Where would you like to sit?” he asked politely.
“The front row, please,” she answered.
“You really don’t want to do that,” the usher said. “The pastor is really boring.”
“Do you happen to know who I am?” the woman inquired.
“No,” he said.
“I’m the pastor’s mother,” she replied indignantly.
“Do you know who I am?” he asked.
“No,” she said.
“Good,” he answered.

***

Show And Tell
A kindergarten teacher gave her class a “show and tell” assignment.
Each student was instructed to bring in an object that represented their religion to share with the class.
The first student got up in front of the class and said, “My name is Benjamin and I am Jewish and this is a Star of David.”
The second student got up in front of the class and said, “My name is Mary. I’m a Catholic and this is a rosary.”
The third student got in up front of the class and said, “My name is Tommy. I am Methodist, and this is a casserole.”

***

Goat For Dinner
The young couple invited their elderly pastor for Sunday dinner.
While they were in the kitchen preparing the meal, the minister asked their son what they were having.
“Goat,” the little boy replied.
“Goat?” replied the startled man of the cloth, “Are you sure about that?”
“Yep,” said the youngster. “I heard Dad say to Mom, ‘Today is just as good as any to have the old goat for dinner’.”

Oh Lord, keep Your arm around my shoulder and Your hand over my big mouth!!!

***

Grandma is eighty-eight years old and still drives her own car. She writes:
Dear Grand-daughter,

The other day I went up to our local Christian book store and saw a ‘Honk if you love Jesus’ bumper sticker.

I was feeling particularly sassy that day because I had just come from a thrilling choir performance, followed by a thunderous prayer meeting.  So, I bought the sticker and put it on my bumper.  Boy, am I glad I did; what an uplifting experience that followed.  I was stopped at a red light at a busy intersection, just lost in thought about the Lord and how good he is, and I didn’t notice that the light had changed.

It is a good thing someone else loves Jesus because if he hadn’t honked, I’d never have noticed.

I found that lot of people love Jesus!

While I was sitting there, the guy behind started honking like crazy, and then he leaned out of his window and screamed, ‘For the love of God!’  ‘Go! Go! Go! Jesus Christ, GO!’

What an exuberant cheerleader he was for Jesus!

18 thoughts on “Why Go To Church?

  1. Newbloggycat says:

    ((((Still laughing))) Good ones! Amen! I’m a Methodist and this a casserole 😜😅. Oops, I am a Methodist you know 😝

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Two priests crossed paths on their bicycles every Sunday. riding to their churches. One Sunday, the first priest saw the 2nd one walking. “Where’s you bike?” “Somebody stole it!” “Well, you need to preach the 10 Commandments today, and emphasize ‘Thou shalt not steal.'” “Okay, I’ll try it.” Next weekend, the 2nd priest rode up on his bike. The first priest says “So, preaching ‘Thou shalt not steal’ made someone feel guilty and they returned your bike?” The 2nd priest says “No, when I got to ‘Thou shalt not commit adultery’ I remembered where I left it.”

    Ba-doom-boom.

    Liked by 5 people

    • Archon's Den says:

      I won’t let the wife see this comment. With an uncle a priest, an aunt and two older sisters nuns, after 60 years of being a recovering Catholic, she still doesn’t find it funny. 😳

      Liked by 1 person

      • So I shouldn’t relate the one about the priest who sneaks out to play golf on Sunday and gets a rather unique punishment from God?

        Liked by 2 people

      • Archon's Den says:

        Oh, go ahead. 😉 She’ll never see it anyway. When I first started blogging, she was fascinated that I could compose all these little stories, and that real people actually read them. She read the first 15 or so posts. Then, apparently, I said something about her that she didn’t like, and she hasn’t read a word in 10 years. 😛

        Like

      • Well, I’ll debate you about real people reading your blog, at least in my case.;
        A priest woke one beautiful Sunday morning and thought, “The weather’s so nice, I’ll sneak in a round of golf before church”. So he gears up, heads out to the course, and is just about to tee off when St. Peter sees him and calls God over. “Look at that, a priest golfing on the Sabbath! You have to punish him!” God agrees, the priest gives the ball a mighty whack, and right into the cup it goes for a hole in one. St. Peter looks at God and says “You call that a punishment?!?” God smiles and says “Yes. Who can he tell about it?” 😀

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Rivergirl says:

    Ha! Good group…
    🤣

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      I always like to help people star the week with a laugh. Here in Canada, it’s Thanksgiving Monday and the workweek doesn’t start until tomorrow. By the time you Americans get around to Thanksgiving, we’re up here harvesting icicles. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rivergirl says:

        We had to celebrate the slaughter of indigenous people by an incompetent navigator yesterday. Thanksgiving comes later.

        Like

      • Archon's Den says:

        Columbus should be celebrated as the perfect bureaucrat. He got to take a boondoggle trip. He didn’t know where he was going when he left. He didn’t go where he intended. When he returned, he couldn’t explain where he’d been…. and he did it all with someone else’s money. 😳 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • You harvest icicles? Strange. In Chicago, icicles harvest us. Ever see a chunk of ice come whistling down from 100 stories over your head? Gives you new respect for icicles … and gravity. 😯

        Liked by 2 people

  4. I just realised I didn’t answer the question that’s the title of this post. Because – to sleep in a fancy stone building, hundreds of years old, with all that exquisite art and trappings would cost a FORTUNE at a hotel. In church, you do it for free, and if you’re Catholic, they throw in a Continental breakfast! (Yeah, I’ve already got my red Union suit and pitchfork reserved. 😉 )

    Liked by 2 people

  5. […] From this Archon’s Den post: […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment