I (Heart) Modern Medicine

Congratulate me, everyone.  I am the proud papa of a bouncing baby angina.

Increasingly, over the past month, I have noticed that, following any small amount of vigorous exercise, I got a feeling of constriction in my chest, and a strong ache, right up into my throat, causing a gag reflex a couple of times.  My Osteopath felt it might be cramping muscles, or jammed ribs, from poor posture while I read in my easy chair, but she (strongly) suggested that I contact my doctor.

It was well that she did.  I went home and called late in the afternoon.  As soon as I spoke the two magic words – Chest Pains – Shit Happened!  I got an appointment at 11 AM the next morning.  When I described my symptoms, she told me that I have a case of Angina Pectoris.

Since angina is caused by a clogged artery, she immediately prescribed a cholesterol medication to be added to my list.  She wanted blood and urine tests.  I wanted to use a lab near my house, but she insisted on a branch in her medical building before I even left.  On my way out, her assistant told me that she’d booked me for a bone-density test at the hospital.  The doctor referred me to the Cardiology Associates there, also.

The next day, my Ophthalmologist called, and wanted me to come to her office to measure my eye for the new lens that she’s going to insert.  She knew this when I was there a month ago.  Why didn’t she do that then??!  It entailed a 20-minute drive across town, for a 5-minute procedure, and then a 20-minute drive home.  I’m scheduled for surgery at 7 AM, April 30th, so wish me luck tomorrow.  To prepare, I received three different eye-drop medications – one to begin two days before the operation and the others to continue a week – and 4 weeks – after.

MD says that angina is medically considered “Normal, Acute, or Emergency.”  I’ve gone from normal, to acute.  She said that, as acute, even with her referral, it could take two – three – even four months to be seen.  She said that, if I have a bad attack, to immediately go to Emergency.  It’s caused by over-exertion.  I have found that sitting and taking deep breaths makes it disappear.  I don’t want to drive, even if the son didn’t have the car at work, and it would be gone by the time I arrived.

She told me, to shortcut the wait, to go to Emergency at 6:00/6:30 AM, tell the triage nurse that I’d had an attack, that my doctor wants me to be given a stress test and evaluated.  The new crew comes on-duty at 7.  Take a friend, a couple of books, and some food and drink.  The wait could be ten or twelve hours – but I’ll be seen and assessed that day.

Despite the high cost of living, it remains a popular option.  Medically, I’ve become – and will remain – Busy, Busy, Busy!
Busy
Stayin’ Alive!
Stayin’ Alive!

***

Because of the surgery, this week’s Wednesday post may be on Thursday.  😀

23 thoughts on “I (Heart) Modern Medicine

  1. See? I keep tellin’ ya you are a cute Canadian! 😉

    So, do I have to get working on cleaning out the upstairs bedroom for your next visit? The monitors are no problem, but the oxygen feeds are a pain, and you clean your own bedpans. bunkie! 😀 Or should I just send you a big box of crazy glue and duct tape for Canada Day this year, ‘cuz you is fallin’ apart!

    Best wishes as always. Maybe I can carry a little of your load on Wednesday – I may have some good news of my own to spread. Stay tuned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      Oh No! None of this “The Upper Room” shit. Aside from French fries, I’ve had to cut down on flitting around the house, and dashing up and down stairs. I’ll just sleep in the bath tub 😉 😳

      Liked by 1 person

      • Or we could set you up in the shed. Privacy, all on one floor, easy to heat and cool. ‘Course, you will have to evict the “feral” cats living there….. :D

        By the by, as the wife pointed out, have you noticed all these health problems hit after you stayed in Ohio? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rivergirl says:

    Yikes. That’s some frightening news to receive. I hope the medicine helps and the pain recedes. Speaking as the wife of a triple by pass patient, you’ll want to do everything you can to avoid that.
    Wishing you good luck with the surgery.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lifelessons says:

    Crazy that they’d consider making you wait that long. Thank goodness for your doctor’s shortcut, but still, seems ridiculous that you’ll have to camp out for that long in the waiting room!! Fingers crossed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      Older people are more numerous, so heart problems are more common, and backlogs are longer. If I don’t show that it’s enough of a problem to push, they’re happy to let me wait. My eyesight checkup this morning went well. The Ophthalmologist urged me to do the “Visit ER” trick. She says that, if I do, I’ll probably be seen and out by noon. 😀

      Like

  4. Bill says:

    Good luck with it all, and take care. 

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jim Wheeler says:

    Back in February I had a similar chest problem. It hurt to breathe. It came on rather suddenly and I couldn’t take a deep breath. My son drove me to the ER, but by the time we got there, the problem was rapidly diminishing. So I went home rather than spending the evening among the wretched denizens huddled, waiting, within. 

    The more I thought about it, the more I suspected a heart attack. I got a (chemical) stress test and, sure enough, the report noted evidence of an infarct. My cardio doc said he suspected the report was wrong and ordered an echo cardiogram. After all, the pump is quite old. The echo report looks normal to me but I’m still waiting to talk to the doc. The shortness of breath has not repeated.

    So, I can empathize. To have the continuing condition must be tough. Hang in there, Archon. I wish you the best and look forward to your reporting.

    Jim

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      I hope it turns out to not be a heart attack. Even a small one damages heart tissue. My angina won’t damage tissue unless it lasts a long time. Believe me, I can’t let it last a long time. I can do anything I used to, I just have to do it more slowly. Both the wife and the daughter are semi-handicapped – wife with a cane – daughter with a forearm crutch. I used to zip up and down Costco aisles, picking up items. Now I have to plod along at their pace.
      The eye operation went quickly and well, yesterday. I saw the surgeon this morning. She’s happy, and so am I. Cornea already shows healing, and sight is much clearer. I should have no trouble retesting for my driver’s license. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Newbloggycat says:

    Ahh a-cute angina! lol😅Jokes aside…hope all goes well with the surgery at 7am today. Just stay healthy…hope you live to be 100 💪😅🌈

    Liked by 1 person

  7. RaPaR says:

    By all means, take care of yourself and take things easy for a while! Above all, listen to the doctors!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 1jaded1 says:

    Please keep us posted, dear Archon.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hubby’s angina is described as ‘unstable’. He’s on blood thinners for life, has zero tolerance to statins, but on ezetimibe cholesterol meds (me too). Any other medication is iffy because of his blood thinners. The doc put him on aspirin despite us telling him about the blood thinners, to which his reply was it’s only a low dose. Hubby had a bleed and I took him to A&E. He was kept in for two days and the aspirin sent where the sun don’t shine.
    Sounds like you have a good meds team though. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      I talked to Dr. Google, and self-prescribed low-dose aspirin, but couldn’t begin them until after the eye operation. A year’s supply of Bayer, at Costco, was $28. The Kirkland equivalent was $9! I chose the Scottish brand. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment