’18 A To Z Challenge – W

Get Off My Lawn

Old Man

I write ‘old,’ because I am old, but also because I read even older writings when I was young.  I love the new technology (what I can understand of it), but I miss the grace, style and solemnity of bygone days, and bygone manners, and bygone speech.  When/because I was younger, I never had the opportunity to call someone a

Whippersnapper

Now that I am old enough to do so, life and language have moved on, and I have missed my chance.  I might as well speak of button-hooks, or buggy-whips, or Marcel hair treatments.  People would regard me even more strangely than they already do.

‘Whippersnapper’ is a word which has been used since the 17th century. The word can be used in two different contexts. One, it refers to a person who is very lazy and has no ambitions. The other context is used to denote young people who live on the streets and are indulged in wrong practices. However, the usage and meaning of the word changed over time. Now, it is used for a person who is very confident, or for a child who keeps questioning.

Nowadays, society moves so fast that many of us don’t have, or take, the time to actually say or write things.  OMG!  For those who deserve this epithet, (and they are numerous, and greatly deserving) I will have to settle for a firmly applied “Asshole,” or a solid smack with an appropriate acronym (PITA = Pain In The Ass), or Emoji. Thumbs Down

9 thoughts on “’18 A To Z Challenge – W

  1. jim- says:

    I think old fogey is still in fashion. Looks like you kept that one alive! 🎯

    Like

  2. It’s okay, go out on your front porch and shake your cane. The kids on your lawn probably have earbuds in and can’t hear you anyway…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dale says:

    I love the term whippersnapper myself and though I choose to think I’m not THAT old, we like to bring out the old expressions once in a while, just to change things up. OMG Mom! WTF are you saying?

    Like

Leave a comment