Direct Fibbing Friday

Last week Pensitivity101 was directed to a site recommended by fellow blogger Archons Den.
Who, Little Old Meeee??   😎
These are the first batch she selected for your definitions and thoughts please:

1. Groak

None of this, “Kiss me, and I’ll turn into a prince, rot!”  This is what frogs really say, often, just before they become lunch at a bistro.

2. Nefelibata

This was the female child of the Egyptian goddess, Nefertiti.  The Woke brigade are trying to amend all history books to give her name as Neferbosom.  😮

3. Paranymph

The wife of one of two physicians – Paradox – in a medical partnership.

4. Flummery

This is the expulsion of copious amounts of natural gas, after a good feed of baked beans.  If foods with Sulphur, like egg yolks, are also consumed, the RSPCA will show up to ensure that it doesn’t get blamed on the dog.

5. Sirenize

Hurrying down Interstate 75 a bit faster than all the other traffic??  The State Troopers will sonically let you know that it’s not a good idea, with a better noise than that British coppers’ Wee-Waw, Wee-WawI say old chap, could you see your way clear to pull over?

6. Carker

He’s the parking valet at a low-rent hotel.  As their sign says, Please remember what your parking attendant looks like.  We don’t employ one!

7. Smatchet

Get arrogant, or just oblivious, and run a red light.  This is how your car, and probably several others, will end up.  Put the damned cell-phone down!

8. Shivviness

A noun to describe knife fights and inmate murders in prisons.

9.Sprauncy (Sproncy)

This is the word I use to describe my personal appearance/style – also called shabby chic.  The wife says I look like I combed my hair with a pillow.  ‘Pigpen’ from the Peanuts cartoon strip has blocked me on Facebook, and as I walked past a Salvation Army Thrift Store, a clerk came out and offered me a free makeover.

10. Druxy

This is how you feel when you pick up a dozen Krispy Kreme donuts for the family, on your way home, and then have to hide the empty box when you get there.

 

17 thoughts on “Direct Fibbing Friday

  1. Paranymph? Ain’t that what keeps the paratroopers happy on long flights?

    Groak – What you emit when struck with an acorn. (Get it? Groan + oak = ? Aw. the heck with ya! 😀 )

    I misread sprauncy the first time, and thought of what you call a huge mistake that works out well. (See The Battle Of Midway for that Chester Nimitz/Raymond Spruance reference. – ed.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    We had an old saying, “If you go 75 on I75, you go way too slow,” How fast were you going?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      Haven’t been on I-75 in years. I take I-77 to John’s Amish country. I drive the middle lane. Faster than the slow. Slower than the fast. Canadian traffic is generally a little more sedate than the 75 Raceway. If/when I hit 75, the wife starts to hyperventilate. :O

      Like

  3. Thanks for the fun answers. Still chuckling at #1 and #4. See you next week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ghostmmnc says:

    Fun answers, and thanks for the suggested words to define! I especially like # 9 & 10 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. XLOVELI says:

    The Egyptian gods will get VERY angry if their names are tampered with. They will rise from the sea north of Egypt, like an invasion of the Sea Peoples once came from that direction, and they will WREAK HAVOC. Egypt will fall. The WORLD will fall. And the gods will be satisfied.

    Come visit my website, and leave some comments, if you like

    http://www.dark.sport.blog

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] After eating most of a gourmet pizza last night, with cauliflower, capers, red onions, pineapple, and anchovies, I rolled out of bed this morning –literally – with a distended abdomen that looked like the fat guy in the Monty Python skit.  I raced to the hospital, and while the ER doctor is fetching the special catheter to release all my gas, I’m using my tablet to look up “Flummery.” […]

    Like

Leave a comment