A Road Not Taken

What alternative career paths have you considered or are interested in?

The days of lifelong careers is past, even for the University-educated.  Social and employment needs and standards morph and alter almost daily.  Especially for the under-educated like me, constant evolution and change are inevitable.  Even ignoring workplace politics, it becomes imperative to adapt and improve – leaving failing industries, and accepting new challenges.

Even in my retirement, I am continuously perfecting my couch-potato, and blogger, positions.  In my brief half-century of working life, I was a bank clerk, a golf pro (in name only – to protect the “real pro’s” amateur standing), a (very small) office manager, a Community College instructor, a production clerk, a time-study clerk, an inventory clerk, Inventory Manager, expeditor, buyer, Purchasing Agent, Materials Manager, Outside Salesman, security guard, shoe-parts cutter, auto-parts press operator, metal-shop press operator, and rail-shipping framer.

There’s really not enough room for any more.  I’ve been a student, a husband, a father, a wage-earner, a mentor, a role-model, and a good citizen.  With my physical and mental limitations, I am satisfied with what I have been.  You really don’t want old Sheldon Shaky-Hands doing your eye surgery – or even your taxes.

😳