A Road Not Taken

What alternative career paths have you considered or are interested in?

The days of lifelong careers is past, even for the University-educated.  Social and employment needs and standards morph and alter almost daily.  Especially for the under-educated like me, constant evolution and change are inevitable.  Even ignoring workplace politics, it becomes imperative to adapt and improve – leaving failing industries, and accepting new challenges.

Even in my retirement, I am continuously perfecting my couch-potato, and blogger, positions.  In my brief half-century of working life, I was a bank clerk, a golf pro (in name only – to protect the “real pro’s” amateur standing), a (very small) office manager, a Community College instructor, a production clerk, a time-study clerk, an inventory clerk, Inventory Manager, expeditor, buyer, Purchasing Agent, Materials Manager, Outside Salesman, security guard, shoe-parts cutter, auto-parts press operator, metal-shop press operator, and rail-shipping framer.

There’s really not enough room for any more.  I’ve been a student, a husband, a father, a wage-earner, a mentor, a role-model, and a good citizen.  With my physical and mental limitations, I am satisfied with what I have been.  You really don’t want old Sheldon Shaky-Hands doing your eye surgery – or even your taxes.

😳

7 thoughts on “A Road Not Taken

  1. Rivergirl says:

    A man must know his limits. 😉
    And from the sounds of it, you’ve done more than enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I think an experienced, devious .,,. er, crafty individual such as yourself would be a great tax preparer. You could do the entries in an online program, and if you hands shake too much, there’s always voice recognition-automated data entry. And given your life experience, you MUST have picked up some …. creative … tax tricks. 😉

    And kudos on your wealth of experience. You were lucky – you got paid for your experience. Me, I’ve been a roofer, pavement layer, electrician, plumber. and septic system engineer, among others – all for free, working with my dad! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archon's Den says:

      A techie who attends the Free Thinkers meetings with me, tried to convince me to use voice-to-text to compose my blogs. I started to pay attention to the captioning on videos that I watch. The results are disturbing and amusing. I don’t expect the problems to disappear in my lifetime. I talk to many machines. Fx%kin’ can opener Just not any that can talk back. 😉 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Not any that can talk back for now,. I, too, argue with many household appliances – my “discussions” with my streaming services would make a longshoreman blush – but I steadfastly refuse to have anything that can argue back. it’s more ….. satisfying that way! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Archon's Den says:

        Winner, winner, chicken dinner. 😉 😀

        Like

  3. My big dream was to be a fighter pilot and an astronaut, but I have poor eyesight and poor hearing, so it was off to college. I have worked over three dozen jobs on my way to my current self-employed lifestyle.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment